Google will no longer Sync Files Between Drive And Photos

0

Some users of Google Drive is about to get pissed off with the latest development from the company

Google is about to change the process of how Drive and Photos app shares your media files which include video and photos in an attempt to solve some undisclosed problem, although as it stands, the move might actually cause more damages than it solves. Starting from July 10th, when you upload files to Drive or Photos, they won’t automatically sync to the other service. Likewise, when you delete a photo or video from Drive, it won’t be removed from Photos and vice versa.

While the automatic feature will be temporarily gone till further notice, you will be forced to manually upload or import files from Drive into Photos using the Upload from Drive option. While that seems a bit easy to do, there is no similar way to move files in the opposite direction. “Since photos and videos will no longer sync across both products, items copied in Original Quality will count towards your storage quota in both Drive and Photos,” Google wrote in a blog post.

If you still find any of this explanation non-comprehensible, then you may have to check out the support page where Google clearly spelled out exactly what the changes entail. The latest development, however, follows feedback from users that are of the opinion that the service is quite confusing. Google says the new move will “simplify” the experience between Drive and Photos and it’s clearly designed to draw a distinction between the products. While the move is actually supposed to fix things, it may eventually lead to a messier result eventually, although it is only a matter of time before the company gets everything back in shape.

For now, your files will still be uploaded to each service separately, so if you edit something in Photos, the changes won’t automatically be reflected in Drive unless you chose to.

Leave a Reply

avatar
  Subscribe  
Notify of