How To Share Your Location On WhatsApp

0
two whatsapp on one phones

These days there is a lot of emphasis on maintaining our privacy by keeping our location private from companies. However, there are times when sharing your location comes in handy. For example, if you’re trying to let a friend know where you are to come and pick you up, or if you’re a business owner who is trying to direct customers to their shop.

If you are a WhatsApp user, the app allows users to share their location with others, and here is how you can go about doing it.

How To Share Location On WhatsApp

  1. Launch WhatsApp on your mobile device.
  2. Tap the + icon at the bottom left corner of the app.
  3. Select Location.
  4. This will bring up a map with a pin showing you your current location.
  5. Tap Send Your Current Location if you are happy with the placement.
  6. Alternatively, you can also choose from various other nearby locations if you think that the GPS is a bit off.
  7. Your location will be sent as a message to your WhatsApp contact where if they tap on it, it will bring up a map with your location.

How To Share Live Location On WhatsApp

If you want to share your location on WhatsApp but you don’t think that you’ll be sticking around that spot for long, sharing your live location will give the other person a constantly-updated location of where you are as you move.

  1. Launch WhatsApp on your mobile device.
  2. Tap the + icon at the bottom left corner of the app.
  3. Select Location.
  4. This will bring up a map with a pin showing you your current location.
  5. Tap Share Live Location. In some instances, you might need to grant WhatsApp permission to access your location even when running in the background. If you haven’t done so already, you will need to enable it.
  6. Once enabled, you can choose how long to share your live location for.
  7. Your location will be sent as a message to your WhatsApp contact where if they tap on it, it will bring up a map with your location.
  8. The live location will end once the timer is up, but alternatively, you can tap on Stop Sharing if you’d like to end it earlier.

 

 

Leave a Reply

avatar
  Subscribe  
Notify of