Instagram adds a new feature called ‘Close Friend List’

0

Many changes have been happening on the Facebook-owned Instagram recently and while we think that’s all, the platform adds yet another new feature

The ‘Close Friend List’ as it is been referred to on the platform is a new feature that allows users to add up a list of friends to a more limited group, hence, you can restrict the reach of your post. In otherwise, it is a form of privatizing your activities, so it can only be monitored or seen by a selected number of people.

Image result for Instagram close friend list on iphone

While this does not totally sound strange, considering the fact that the company has sometimes around June 2017, announced  that it had started testing a feature it then called “favorite” which was initially an attempt to reinvent the friends list and encourage people to share more by letting them post to a more limited group of their followers. In response to the rise of “Finstagram” — private accounts followed only by a person’s closest friends — the company sought to give users more tools for private sharing, with a suite of features that touched nearly every part of the app.

The photo-sharing app finally came up with the alternative idea known as “Close Friend List” barely 18 months after the first insight into the reinvention plan. To think that it took so much time to achieve the idea, Instagram’s twist on private sharing actually looks much different than it did in 2017. Now called “close friends,” the feature will be limited to Stories. And while it has been scaled back from its earlier incarnation, close friends could still reshape the social dynamics on Instagram.

To use the new feature, open up the Stories camera and take a photo or video. After you finish your shot, you’ll notice a new green circle with a white star in it. Tap it, and you’ll be brought to the close friends’ list where you can add people to your inner circle. Instagram will suggest friends to you based on the people you interact with most, or you can use a search box to finish your list. In testing, people typically added around two dozen people, says Robby Stein, product lead at Instagram.

Friends are never notified that you added them to, or removed them from, your list. Unlike a Finstagram, people can’t request to join your circle of close friends. If they’re on your list, they’ll see the green rings when you post to your close friends; if they’re not, they won’t. But you’ll still maintain “plausible deniability,” Stein says, as most people will simply assume you haven’t posted anything to your close friends’ group.

For Instagram to continue thriving, it has to carve out space for actual friends to stay in touch. Close friends is a welcome step in that direction.

Leave a Reply

avatar
  Subscribe  
Notify of